The Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Government of India is hosting the 4th OECD World Forum during 16-19th October 2012 at Hotel The Ashok, New Delhi


The Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation came into existence as an Independent Ministry on 15.10.2021 after the merger of the Department of Statistics and the Department of Programme Implementation. The Ministry has two wings, one relating to Statistics and the other Programme Implementation. The Statistics Wing called the National Statistical Organisation (NSO) consists of the Central Statistics Office (CSO) and the National Sample Survey Office (NSSO). CSO has six major Divisions viz.

(i) National Accounts Division (NAD),

(ii) Economic Statistics Division (ESD),

(iii) Social Statistics Division (SSD),

(iv) Coordination and Publication Division (CAP)

(v) Training Division ( NASA) and

(vi) Computer Centre.


Similarly NSSO has also Four Divisions viz.

(i)  Survey Design and Research Division(SDRD),

(ii)  Field Operations Divisions (FOD),

(iii) Data Processing Division ( DPD) and

(iv)Coordination and Publication Division (CPD).


The Programme Implementation Wing has three Divisions, viz.

(i) Twenty Point Programme

(ii) Infrastructure Monitoring and Project Monitoring and

(iii) Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme.


Besides these two wings, there is National Statistical Commission created through a Resolution of Government of India (MOSPI) and one autonomous Institute, viz., Indian Statistical Institute declared as an institute of National importance by an Act of Parliament.


Dr. T.C.A. Anant, Secretary and Chief Statistician of India is at the helm of affairs of this Ministry with support of Technical and Administrative Officers / Staff. CSO is headed by Shri S.K. Das, Director General and one of its division viz. National Accounts Division is entrusted with the responsibility to organize the present 4th OECD World Forum headed by Shri Ashish Kumar, Addl. Director General and assisted by Shri K. K. Lamba, Deputy Director General, NAD, Shri S.C. Malik, Director, NAD, Shri V. B. Gupta, Deputy Director and Ms. Sudeepta Ghosh, Asst. Director as the organising team members.


For more details; please visit our website: www.mospi.gov.in

Comments are closed.